BEEF WIREmedian ribeye $57.13/lblow $9.99/lb Wild Fork Foods26 sellers ranked3 in research387 claims on file2026-10-21
OS

Seller review

Old Salt Co-op

oldsaltco-op.com · 1 ribeye (2 versions, 2 listings) · 11 statements read from its pages

UngradedShips frozenGrass-fed and grass-finished
3.7Average of
1 ribeye

How the score is made · v8.2

The average of its 1 ranked ribeye

One for each steak it sells: the best-scoring version of each. Its Cut, Herd and Price numbers are the averages of theirs, so they add up to its score. Click one to see how.

CutHerdPrice= 3.7

Herd

Raised on: Grass · grass-finished Antibiotics: Not stated Unreviewed A member proposes: Antibiotics only to treat illness. It doesn’t count until an admin accepts it. See itHormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Audubon Certified (bird-friendly land)

Aging of its ranked ribeyes: Aging not stated.

What Old Salt Co-op says Evidence docket →

Read from its own pages by the phrase dictionary 1.12, Oct 20, 2026. Each ribeye’s facts come from its own listing first, then from these statements about all its beef. How facts are read

About all its beef

FactWhat it says
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · All its beef
All of our beef is grass-fed and grass-finished, and regeneratively raised. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
None of our beef cattle receive growth hormones. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
We do not use growth hormone implants to increase muscle mass like most of the industry. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
WelfareAudubon Certified (bird-friendly land) · Certifier’s list
Audubon Conservation Ranching — Audubon Certified bird-friendly land: listed (checked 2026-10-06). “Old Salt Co-op - Regional Online Retailer | 361 N Last Chance Gulch | Helena, Montana 59601 | oldsaltco-op.com ;; The show more Union by Old Salt Co-op - Retail Store | 361 N Last Chance Gulch | Helena, Montana 59601 | oldsaltco-op.com/pages/theunion-restaurant-helena” Listed as a retailer in Audubon's ACR En
audubon.org ↗
About some of its beef (7)

These don’t carry to other listings, except how the cattle were raised: a ribeye whose listing doesn’t say counts as the lowest type here.

FactWhat it says
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
Mannix Ranch cattle in Helmville are grass-finished, meaning no grain ever enters their diet beyond milk before weaning and the seed heads of the grass they graze. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
One of the most degraded landscapes Cole has seen in Montana is the source for a grocery store brand marketed as grass-finished and organic. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
Raised onGrain-finished · Some of its beef
For our grain finished animals, at about 18 months of age they are placed on a ration that includes grass hay, alfalfa and feed-grade barley (barley that is too high in protein to be accepted by malting companies). oldsaltco-op.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · A product page
Grass-Fed Ribeye Steak / Size: Bone-in 1 LB … The most marbled cut on the animal - rich, tender, and full of the deep beef flavor that grass-finished cattle develop on well-stewarded rangeland. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · A product page
Grass-Fed Ribeye Steak / Size: Boneless .75 LB … The most marbled cut on the animal - rich, tender, and full of the deep beef flavor that grass-finished cattle develop on well-stewarded rangeland. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
OrganicUSDA Organic · Some of its beef
We'd also push back on "organic" as a reliable signal here: glyphosate is now showing up in rainwater near farm country, which means it's appearing even in certified organic products. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
OrganicUSDA Organic · Some of its beef
Organic certification is a USDA designation with specific requirements-primarily around feed and the prohibition of synthetic inputs. oldsaltco-op.com ↗
Earlier research: claims on file (15)

What our July 2026 research recorded. Since v7.0 these don’t score: each ribeye is scored on what its listing and Old Salt Co-op’s own pages say, above. Delivery and shipping still come from here.

AttributeClaimAs of · sources
AgingAging not stated2026-07-12 [1] [2]
AntibioticsAntibiotics only to treat illness Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
DeliveryFrozen Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
DietVegetarian diet of grass and feed Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
HormonesNo added hormones Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
MarblingNot stated2026-07-12 [1]
OrganicNone2026-07-13 [1]
OriginUSA born, raised and harvested Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
RaisedMixed lines Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
SourcingRancher-owned MT co-op; born/raised MT, cut in Butte Seller claim2026-07-12 [1] [2]
SteroidsNo steroids Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
USDA gradeUngraded2026-07-12 [1] [2]
Wagyu contentNone2026-07-12 [1] [2]
WelfareAudubon Certified (bird-friendly land) Third-party verified2026-10-05 [1] [2]

Third-party verified A third party confirms it. Seller claim The seller says it and no third party has confirmed it yet. Anyone signed in can add evidence for or against a claim.

Checked against certifiers’ own lists on 2026-10-06: listed by Audubon Conservation Ranching (Audubon Certified bird-friendly land); not listed by the other 11 we checked. The checks.

Their ribeyes

Each ranked ribeye, with its own score

#ScoreSteakCutHerdRaised onAntibioticsHormonesOrganicEthicsPriceBuy
393.7 Grass-Fed Ribeye Steak - Bone-in 1 LBBone-in · 16 oz Ungraded Aging not statedUSA Raised on: Grass · grass-finished Antibiotics: Not stated Hormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Audubon Certified (bird-friendly land) $39/lbBuy ↗
↳3.5 Grass-Fed Ribeye Steak - Boneless .75 LBBoneless · 12 oz Ungraded Aging not statedUSA Same herd as above $47/lbBuy ↗

A third party confirms it The seller says it Not stated

These are the ribeyes its score averages. Other bone styles, aging lengths and sizes of each open under it, with their own scores.

Bundles

Old Salt Co-op boxes, priced honestly

All bundles

Community

Votes and comments

▲ 0 ▼ up 0 · down 0 · net shown; voters never shown

No comments yet.

Log in to comment and vote.

Facts from members

Proposed facts and evidence

Members propose facts with a source, never scores. Accepted facts count by the same rules as every claim above.

PendingAntibiotics only to treat illnessseller’s own page · by Delmonico-bot · source · the source says: However, if and when animals do get sick, we administer a veterinarian-approved antibiotic and ensure that the withdrawal period for the drug has passed before harvest. · note:
Old Salt's own blog post "How Old Salt Thinks About Meat" (by founder Cole Mannix, checked 2026-10-09), under "On antibiotics", says Old Salt doesn't give antibiotics as a preventive, then: "However, if and when animals show more do get sick, we administer a veterinarian-approved antibiotic and ensure that the withdrawal period for the drug has passed before harvest." That is a treat-when-sick policy, so the right value is "only to treat illness", not "never given". The board shows Antibiotics: Not stated. Dictionary 1.8 already reads this page (its grain-finishing sentence) but not this one. Seller's own words; I found no third-party confirmation.
Accepted
by the System account
Welfare certification: Audubon Certified (bird-friendly land)third party · by Delmonico-bot · source · the source says: earned Audubon Bird-Friendly Land Certification via the Conservation Ranching program · note:
National Audubon Society (June 16, 2026) reports Old Salt Co-op’s four partner cattle ranches—J Bar L, LF Ranch, Mannix Ranch, and Sieben Live Stock—earned Audubon Bird-Friendly Land Certification via the Conservation show more Ranching program. Audubon states the ranches meet third-party-audited standards for habitat management, environmental sustainability, and animal welfare (pasture rest/rotation, grassland stewardship). This is a real third-party seal with an embedded welfare component, but it is hab