Evidence docket
Every fact, and where we read it
1,722 records behind the scores: what each seller says about its beef, the page we read it on, what we checked and found nothing, and every price change with its source. Nearly all of it is the sellers’ own words; we mark what isn’t. How we use it
| Date | Seller · steak | Fact | What we record | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 6, 2026 | Primal Pastures Ribeye Steak (10 oz) |
Raised Seller’s words |
Evidence attached to this steak | “Ours is grass-fed and grass-finished, which means every bite stays juicy without feeling heavy.” (read 2026-10-06) | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Oct 6, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Raised Seller’s words |
“Yes. Our cattle are 100% grass-fed and grass-finished, raised on pristine pasture with constant rotation, and never given hormones, antibiotics, or grain.” (read 2026-10-06) | primalpastures.com ↗ | |
| Oct 6, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Raised Seller’s words |
“These Hereford and angus cattle are 100% pasture-raised on lush california grasses.” (read 2026-10-06) | primalpastures.com ↗ | |
| Oct 6, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Raised Seller’s words |
“For our Primal Pastures meats, we deliberately choose not to pursue organic certification because our standards already go far beyond what the label requires.” (read 2026-10-06) | primalpastures.com ↗ | |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Shipping Seller’s words |
One-off orders | The cart drawer says "Free shipping on orders over $239", but a $239.12 IL cart test still showed only paid UPS/FedEx rates from $44.86, so the free tier may only apply at checkout or in Western ground states. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures Ribeye Steak (10 oz) |
Price basis Seller’s words |
How we read the price and size | Single-steak SKU (variant 'Default Title', price_varies=false, SKU B013), not a pack. Listing $29.89 = per-steak price. On-page size 'Boneless 10 oz steak' (variant weight 283g = 9.98 oz, rounds to li | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Raised Seller’s words |
Grass-fed and grass-finished | 100% grass-fed and grass-finished; graze open pasture birth to harvest, no feedlots, no grain finishing. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Antibiotics Seller’s words |
Never given antibiotics, certified | Never given antibiotics not once not ever. Never-ever standard, self-claimed under own Primal Standard; they reject third-party certification. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Hormones Seller’s words |
No added hormones | Never given hormones; self-claimed, no NHTC/third-party certification. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Steroids Seller’s words |
No steroids | Never given steroids not once not ever; self-claimed. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Diet Seller’s words |
Vegetarian diet of grass only | Grass only birth to harvest; Corn-Free and Soy-Free, no grain finishing. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Origin Seller’s words |
USA born, raised and harvested | Born, Raised and Harvested in the USA; California and Arizona pastures. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Organic Seller’s words |
None | Deliberately decline organic certification for beef; use own Primal Standard. Separate produce plot is organic, but the beef herd is not certified. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Welfare Seller’s words |
None | No third-party welfare cert (no AWA/Certified Humane/GAP/AGA); self-defined Primal Standard only. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Delivery Seller’s words |
Flash-frozen | Meat flash frozen at peak of freshness; orders ship frozen with dry ice + insulated packaging. Stored 'frozen' understated flash-frozen method. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 12, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
USDA grade Seller’s words |
Ungraded | No USDA grade claimed. Grass-fed/grass-finished beef; product page and collection show no Prime/Choice designation or grade badge. Marketed on marbling, not grade. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 12, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Wagyu content Seller’s words |
None | Conventional-breed grass-fed cattle (CA/OR regenerative ranches). No wagyu genetics claimed for this or any Primal Pastures beef SKU. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 12, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Marbling Seller’s words |
Not stated | Self-described 'most marbled steak in the lineup, fat woven through the muscle'; 'abundant natural marbling.' No BMS or USDA marbling grade; grass-finished. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 12, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Aging Seller’s words |
Aging not stated | No dry- or wet-aging claim or day count stated on the ribeye product page. Ships frozen. | primalpastures.com ↗ |
| Jul 12, 2026 | Primal Pastures All their beef |
Sourcing Seller’s words |
Regenerative ranches, Central CA + Oregon conservation land; DTC nationwide | Partners with regenerative ranches; ~12,000 acres conservation land in Central California and Oregon. Solar-powered, direct-to-consumer, ships nationwide. | primalpastures.com ↗ |