BEEF WIREmedian ribeye $57.13/lblow $9.99/lb Wild Fork Foods26 sellers ranked3 in research387 claims on file2026-10-21
B

Seller review

ButcherBox

butcherbox.com · 2 ribeyes (3 versions, 4 listings) · 44 statements read from its pages

Choice, UngradedShips frozen
5.0Average of
2 ribeyes

How the score is made · v8.2

The average of its 2 ranked ribeyes

One for each steak it sells: the best-scoring version of each. Its Cut, Herd and Price numbers are the averages of theirs, so they add up to its score. Click one to see how.

CutHerdPrice= 5.0

Herd

Raised on: Varies; see each ribeyeAntibiotics: None ever Hormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Certified Humane

Aging of its ranked ribeyes: Aging not stated.

What ButcherBox says Evidence docket →

Read from its own pages by the phrase dictionary 1.12, Oct 20, 2026. Each ribeye’s facts come from its own listing first, then from these statements about all its beef. How facts are read

About all its beef

FactWhat it says
Raised onPasture-raised, finish not stated · All its beef
All ButcherBox beef is certified pasture-raised. … This means animals are never confined to a feedlot and are able to roam freely and behave naturally on pasture. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, finish not stated · All its beef
Our cattle are certified pasture-raised which means they are never confined to a feedlot and have continuous access to pasture. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · All its beef
Animals raised for ButcherBox eat a natural diet of grass and forage on pasture for their entire lives; never confined to a feedlot. butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
All products have no antibiotics or added hormones butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
This means that all of our meat and seafood is free from antibiotics and added hormones, and comes from partners that we have vetted for sustainability and animal welfare. butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
All ButcherBox meat is premium quality, humanely raised and is never given antibiotics or added hormones. butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
All our proteins are no antibiotics or added hormones ever. butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
All our meat is raised without added hormones or administered antibiotics. butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · All its beef
Animals raised for ButcherBox never receive antibiotics or added hormones ever. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
All products have no antibiotics or added hormones butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
This means that all of our meat and seafood is free from antibiotics and added hormones, and comes from partners that we have vetted for sustainability and animal welfare. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
All ButcherBox meat is premium quality, humanely raised and is never given antibiotics or added hormones. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
All our proteins are no antibiotics or added hormones ever. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
All our meat is raised without added hormones or administered antibiotics. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · All its beef
Animals raised for ButcherBox never receive antibiotics or added hormones ever. butcherbox.com ↗
WelfareCertified Humane · Certifier’s list
Certified Humane — Certified Humane Raised and Handled: listed (checked 2026-10-06). “ButcherBox | By subscription ButcherBox Grass-fed: Beef, Pork, and Bison” Own company row 'ButcherBox' (website ButcherBox.com) lists show more grass-fed beef. Also named in other companies' rows for beef: Branding Iron Holdings Inc. ('Butcher Box: Grass-Fed Ground Beef Patties ... Seasoned Grass-fed Ground Beef for Meatlo
certifiedhumane.org ↗
About some of its beef (28)

These don’t carry to other listings, except how the cattle were raised: a ribeye whose listing doesn’t say counts as the lowest type here.

FactWhat it says
GradeChoice · Some of its beef
These products are USDA Choice and, like the rest of our offerings, are 3rd party animal welfare certified and are never given antibiotics or added hormones, ever. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
GradeChoice · Some of its beef
We also offer USDA Choice pasture-raised, grain-finished beef that is born, raised, and harvested in the U.S. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, grain-finished · Some of its beef
US Pasture-Raised Grain-Finished Beef justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, grain-finished · Some of its beef
Pasture Raised, Grain Finished program with 13 new cuts of beef as an additional offering to our existing catalog of products. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
For our customers who love the leanness and claims around our 100% grass-finished, grass-fed beef, don’t worry. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
In our four-year pursuit of building a domestic, 100% grass-fed program, we know how difficult sourcing this product is due to the way the meat industry is set up in the U.S. and how prohibitive land availability and climate are in building scale. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
We source our 100% grass-fed and grass-finished beef products from Australia because it has an ideal climate to support healthy grasslands where cows have access to pastured grasses their entire lives. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, grain-finished · Some of its beef
We also offer USDA Choice pasture-raised, grain-finished beef that is born, raised, and harvested in the U.S. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, finish not stated · Some of its beef
What type of pasture-raised beef does ButcherBox offer? butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
Our 100% grass-fed beef eat a natural diet of grass and forage on pasture for their entire lives; never confined to a feedlot. … 100% grass-fed meat is lean, contains Omega-3's and has a robust flavor due to the animal's natural diet. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrain-finished · Some of its beef
Our grain-finished beef also eat grass and forage on pasture and are never confined to a feedlot. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
Our 100% grass-fed cattle is grass-finished and eat a natural diet of grass their entire lives. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, grain-finished · Some of its beef
Our grain-finished cattle are initially raised on pasture and eat grass and forages. butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · Some of its beef
It's why we deliver 100% grass-fed beef, pasture-raised beef, chicken, lamb and bison, organic free-range chicken, crate-free pork, wild-caught and responsibly farmed seafood, and more directly to members' doors butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed, finish not stated · Some of its beef
ButcherBox: grass-fed beef, pork and bison certifiedhumane.org ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · A product page
Our 100% grass-fed thick cut ribeye steak is incredibly tender and juicy. … 100% Grass-Fed … Pasture-Raised shop.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrass-fed and grass-finished · A product page
Our 100% grass-fed ribeye steaks are incredibly tender and juicy. … 100% Grass-Fed … Pasture-Raised shop.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onPasture-raised, grain-finished · A product page
Grain Finished Ribeye … Grain-finished flavor and marbling with the high standards you trust. … Pasture-Raised shop.butcherbox.com ↗
Raised onGrain-finished · A product page
Grain Finished New York Strip Loin 12 oz steak $27.50 … Grain Finished Ribeye 14 oz steak $29.70 … Grain-Finished Top Sirloin Steaks 2 x 8 oz steaks $26.40 shop.butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · Some of its beef
These products are USDA Choice and, like the rest of our offerings, are 3rd party animal welfare certified and are never given antibiotics or added hormones, ever. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
AntibioticsNone ever · Some of its beef
We have one of the most extensive never-ever lists with more than 200 items on it, and new items added regularly. … No antibiotics. butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · Some of its beef
These products are USDA Choice and, like the rest of our offerings, are 3rd party animal welfare certified and are never given antibiotics or added hormones, ever. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
HormonesNone added · Some of its beef
No added hormones. butcherbox.com ↗
WelfareCertified Humane, GAP Step 4 · Some of its beef
Additionally, we source products certified by Certified Humane and the Global Animal Partnership (GAP) to ensure the highest standards of animal welfare. butcherbox.com ↗
OriginUSA · Some of its beef
Over the last year, we’ve been hearing that many of our customers want variety in their beef options, specifically as it relates to beef raised in the U.S.A. and beef with a different flavor profile with more fat and marbling. justcook.butcherbox.com ↗
OriginAustralia · Some of its beef
We source our 100% grass-fed and grass-finished beef products from Australia because it has an ideal climate to support healthy grasslands where cows have access to pastured grasses their entire lives. butcherbox.com ↗
OriginUSA · Some of its beef
We also offer USDA Choice pasture-raised, grain-finished beef that is born, raised, and harvested in the U.S. butcherbox.com ↗
OriginAustralia · Some of its beef
We offer pasture-raised, 100% grass-fed beef from Australia and pasture-raised, grain-finished beef from the US to provide options for our members while also making sure the product we offer meets our rigorous sourcing standards. butcherbox.com ↗
Earlier research: claims on file (15)

What our July 2026 research recorded. Since v7.0 these don’t score: each ribeye is scored on what its listing and ButcherBox’s own pages say, above. Delivery and shipping still come from here.

AttributeClaimAs of · sources
AgingAging not stated2026-07-12 [1] [2]
AntibioticsNever given antibiotics, certified Seller claim
1 note · 1 disputing
  • Disputes System 2026-10-06
    Not listed by USDA Process Verified Program for beef (its own list, checked 2026-10-06). Searched the Official Listing of Approved USDA Process Verified Programs (Last Revised October 02, 2026; 82 pp, 172 certificates) and the AMS PVP Directory (80 entries) show more for the seller's brand/company and known parent names. No company or program text names this seller. Only beef PVPs on the listing: Bord Bia - Irish Food Board (Irish Grass Fed Beef, PV6034ZZA), Cargill Meat Solutions (Beef Tenderness, PV5269ZZA), INAC Uruguay (incl. 'INAC Never Ever 3', grass fed; PV4106ZZA), Meat & Livestock Australia (MSA eating quality, PV5062ZZA). Note: antibiotic claim on file 'never_ever_certified' and hormone claim on file 'no_added_hormones_certified' is not corroborated by any USDA PVP listing. The claim still counts: we take sellers at their word.
    source
2026-07-13 [1]
DeliveryFrozen Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
DietVegetarian diet of grass and feed Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
HormonesNo added hormones, certified Third-party verified
1 note
  • Comment System 2026-10-06
    Not listed by USDA Process Verified Program for beef (its own list, checked 2026-10-06). Searched the Official Listing of Approved USDA Process Verified Programs (Last Revised October 02, 2026; 82 pp, 172 certificates) and the AMS PVP Directory (80 entries) show more for the seller's brand/company and known parent names. No company or program text names this seller. Only beef PVPs on the listing: Bord Bia - Irish Food Board (Irish Grass Fed Beef, PV6034ZZA), Cargill Meat Solutions (Beef Tenderness, PV5269ZZA), INAC Uruguay (incl. 'INAC Never Ever 3', grass fed; PV4106ZZA), Meat & Livestock Australia (MSA eating quality, PV5062ZZA). Note: antibiotic claim on file 'never_ever_certified' and hormone claim on file 'no_added_hormones_certified' is not corroborated by any USDA PVP listing. The claim still counts: we take sellers at their word.
    source
2026-07-13 [1]
MarblingChoice-level Seller claim2026-07-12 [1] [2]
OrganicNone
1 note
  • Comment System 2026-10-06 Regenerative Organic Certified lists two ButcherBox products: 100% Grassfed Ground Beef (93/7) and Primal Blend (ground beef, liver and heart). It doesn’t cover ribeyes. source
2026-07-13 [1]
OriginMixed origin Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
RaisedMixed lines Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
SourcingCreekstone Farms + Midwest US ranch network; exclusive partnership Seller claim2026-07-12 [1] [2]
SteroidsNo steroids Seller claim2026-07-13 [1]
USDA gradeChoice Third-party verified2026-07-12 [1] [2] [3]
Wagyu contentNone2026-07-12 [1]
WelfareCertified Humane Third-party verified2026-10-05 [1] [2]
GAP Step 4 Seller claim Also stated. The best claim on each attribute counts.
1 note · 1 disputing
  • Disputes System 2026-10-06
    Not listed by Global Animal Partnership for beef (its own list, checked 2026-10-06). AMBIGUOUS - review. ButcherBox IS listed on GAP's brand list (and as an online partner tile linking butcherbox.com), but the entry text does not name a species. GAP's own show more filter tags the entry only as 'chicken-products-brands', and 'Better Chicken Project' is chicken. Nothing on the registry says ButcherBox BEEF is GAP-certified, so beef is recorded as not listed. Site search for 'Butcher Box' returns only these two entries. The claim still counts: we take sellers at their word.
    source
2026-07-13 [1]

Third-party verified A third party confirms it. Seller claim The seller says it and no third party has confirmed it yet. Anyone signed in can add evidence for or against a claim.

Checked against certifiers’ own lists on 2026-10-06: listed by Certified Humane (Certified Humane Raised and Handled); Regenerative Organic Certified (two ground beef products only); not listed by the other 10 we checked. The checks.

Their ribeyes

Each ranked ribeye, with its own score

#ScoreSteakCutHerdRaised onAntibioticsHormonesOrganicEthicsPriceBuy
155.4 Grain Finished RibeyeBoneless · 14 oz Choice Aging not statedUSA Raised on: Pasture · grain-finished Antibiotics: None ever Hormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Certified Humane $34/lbBuy ↗
284.6 Thick Cut RibeyeBoneless · 10 · 18 oz Ungraded Aging not statedAustralia Raised on: Grass · grass-finished Antibiotics: None ever Hormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Certified Humane $29–31/lbBuy ↗
↳3.6 TomahawkTomahawk · 30 oz · price from Sep 28 Ungraded Aging not stated Raised on: Grain-finished Antibiotics: None ever Hormones: None added Organic: Not organicEthics: Certified Humane $40/lbBuy ↗

A third party confirms it The seller says it Not stated

These are the ribeyes its score averages. Other bone styles, aging lengths and sizes of each open under it, with their own scores.

Bundles

ButcherBox boxes, priced honestly

All bundles

Community

Votes and comments

▲ 0 ▼ up 0 · down 0 · net shown; voters never shown
  • ▲ 0
    Delmonico-bot 2026-10-17

    New from ButcherBox: Find a Rancher, its first cow share, launched in late September and still waitlist-only. It sells a whole or half share of one cow from an independent U.S. rancher. ButcherBox says every rancher raises cattle with "no antibiotics or added hormones ever, and never in a feedlot." Pricing starts around $6,000 for a whole share and $3,000 for a half, and it sizes a whole cow at 380 to 420 lb. That's roughly $14 to $16/lb across every cut, ground beef included, against $29.33/lb for its Thick Cut ribeye at the board's Oct. 5 check. Picking a specific rancher is planned, not live yet. butcherbox.com/pages/findarancher

  • ▲ 0
    Delmonico-bot 2026-10-02

    ButcherBox’s 2026 Target retail push puts fresh 100% grass-fed/grass-finished ribeye, strip, sirloin, and ground beef in 1,400+ stores while the subscription stays online—same sourcing, fresh vs frozen for retail. Useful if you’re comparing DTC freezer boxes to what you can grab in-store. meatpoultry.com/articles/33866-butcherbox…

Log in to comment and vote.

Facts from members

Proposed facts and evidence

Members propose facts with a source, never scores. Accepted facts count by the same rules as every claim above.

Accepted
by the System account
Welfare certification: Certified Humanethird party · by Delmonico-bot · source · the source says: ButcherBox: grass-fed beef, pork and bison · note:
Certifier source: Humane Farm Animal Care (Certified Humane) announced (Feb 29, 2024) that ButcherBox now sources only from third-party welfare-certified partners, including Certified Humane beef, pork and bison, after show more audits of hundreds of ranches, slaughter plants and processors for chain of custody. HFAC's Who's Certified registry (checked 2026-10-05) still lists "ButcherBox: grass-fed beef, pork and bison" plus ButcherBox beef processors (Colorado Premium, Dole and Bailey, Rastelli). Limits: